A Moving Experience

Moving can mean many things and it looms large in my life at the moment.

Last weekend I went to Napier with some friends and we witnessed the ordination of our ex-vicar as the Bishop of Waiapu. It was pomp and ceremony and more clergy than you can count…what is the collective noun for clergy I wonder? It was lovely and I had a fab time and the next day, Sunday, we went back to Napier Cathedral to hear Andrew preach and to receive our last communion from him. It was moving and there were tears shed but it was also right, he looked exactly where he should be.

There is nothing as exhausting (in a childless existence) than moving house. I am tidying and cleaning and de-cluttering and giving away furniture and making piles of boxes in my garage. I like the de-cluttered look, it is very soothing. I am weeding and doing a little planting to make the garden look nice. I am also trying to finish page proofs for my next book but every time I start to read I lose time and then wake up.

Can’t show you the cover for “Blood, Wine and Chocolate” yet, but I can say I ABSOLUTELY LOVE it. It is exactly what I had in mind and more. Advanced Reader’s Editions will be available soon and yes, some of you will get them, you know who you are.

I have all my digits crossed that I will get the house I want to live in next. It fills my mind while I clean and tidy and weed and pack. It is about 30 minutes south of Cambridge in an even smaller rural town. But it has everything I need, a supermarket, a picture theatre, a swimming pool, lots of vintage clothing stores…

The house is down a right-of-way and has glorious rural views, mature trees that sing when the wind sways them, a few sheds and three tiers of lawn and lots of decking, some closed in. Inside it has three bedrooms, polished wooden floors and a great kitchen. The bathroom needs remodelling because I like a shower, not a shower over a bath…SO, I am going to unleash my Art Deco style. I am dreaming of black and white bathroom tiles, gorgeous mirrors, pedestal vanity and square shower box and I have seen a magnificent black chandelier for the hall and a cut crystal pendant light for my bedroom and a completely round swivel chair for the lounge. A little excited? Much.

So the next while will be Open Homes and cleaning and tidying and weeding and dreaming of my next home and my Art Deco sanctuary. But before it becomes a reality….a moving experience.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sharon
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 02:32:31

    Best wishes and much happiness. Your new home and your vivid description of the locale and the setting sounds ldyllic and ideal. You are fortunate to have found this haven. Wishing you contentment, and many years of enjoyment in your new home and area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

