Of Mothers, cars and elections

Ah, so many things are afoot in my busy life, it is hard to keep up. Today I have pruned large trees and small shrubs and prepared for a Japanese pebble garden…long story, but I think it will look cool and I’ll take a pic of it when it is done.

Last week I went up to Auckland in my new little blue car (of which I am inordinately fond). I had lunch with my fantastic publisher, Finlay Macdonald at Skycity. We discussed the cover of my next book and how to make it sexy and clever and blood thirsty. I will be intrigued to see what they come back with, given the ideas we had! Then I went and stayed with my Aunt who had turned 91 on Wednesday. It was her first birthday without her sister and my first ‘Mum’s birthday’ without Mum. We had some great catch ups and watched some gold medals at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games. We were both rather reluctant to part company.

I found this little poem the other day and I put it here in honour of my dear old Mum.

mother poem

The writing is going well and I’m combining it with regular gym and aqua-aerobics, church and preparations for the upcoming election. Those who have subscribed to my blog since 2011 will know that I am a ‘political animal’ and I love being involved in an election campaign. Our local MP, Louise Upston, is superb, one of the best MPs I’ve ever had and it is a pleasure to work for her. On a broader note I am a ‘Key person’, I think John Key rocks and I admire what the National party have achieved during the last six years. So, counting down to the scrap!!

There is some great TV on at the moment, real quality writing and it is maintaining the pressure as the series progress. “Resurrection”, “Under the Dome”, “The White Queen” and of course one day my very favourite, “Scandal” will return. Happy Days.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ruthwarrens
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 23:30:53

    Big, if belated hugs for your Mum’s birthday – I know how tough that one is xx  Lovely of and for you to spend it with your aunt.

    We are doing well in Glasgow, aren’t we?! 🙂 As you’ll see on FB, I order myself ‘the t-short’ today. Won’t be here before the games end, but I’ll wear it with pride for a long time:

    Love and hugs Rhubarb xx

    ________________________________

    Reply

  2. Tui Allen
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 13:19:16

    I did the whole pruning of large and small trees thing yesterday too!
    We have a lot in common Julie but one thing we do not have in common is our politics. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

