Going On a Holiday and a Bike

Today is another one of those days when I realise how much I love my life.

From the big things…I get to spend my days writing the books I love and have a wonderful publisher who understands me and supports me…to the little things, I can have a steaming hot shower on a cold winter morning and my dehumidifier means I wake up to a house that is warm and dry.

Another thing is making me excited today, I’m going on a holiday! I haven’t had a holiday since 2009 and life has been pretty rugged at times since then. In a couple of weeks I am going to the beautiful city of Melbourne. Yes, I’m visiting three museums that are important for the book I’m currently writing. And as I wander around the city I’ll imagine what it was like in 1950 for an immigrant family from Germany, but most of my time will be spent sightseeing, shopping, eating magnificent meals and drinking adventurous cocktails, a day spa treat and catching up with a dear dear friend I haven’t seen since 2009. We laugh, a lot.

Over the last few months I’ve nearly gone to the USA and then nearly gone to Germany and now I AM going to Melbourne. My frazzled brain can hardly wait.

I’m also buying some new transport. No, not a car, a bicycle. I am going to fulfil my dream of riding a bike with a wicker basket on the front, although it will also have 21 gears and a very comfortable seat. I’m hard at work thinking of an appropriate name for it, something suitably refined and literary. Agatha is in the lead at the moment, but these things take time.

So, on this glorious day, I am off into Cambridge, the rural town I am proud to call home and which I love so much. It is very possible I shall set out on foot and come home on a shiny new bike. If this does happen I’ll take a photo and put it in my next blog. If you have any ideas for a name, please feel free to let me know. Happy, happy day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharon
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 09:42:40

    Your holiday sounds wonderful and a bike is ideal. Enjoy.

    Reply

  2. Tui Allen
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 15:03:02

    Call it Mozart or Guarneri or something musical or if she seems girlish call her Yulena.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

