Of visitors and spaghetti and sausages

Today is Tuesday. Today I would’ve been packing my little red suitcase and checking my documentation and making my way to Auckland airport to fly to San Francisco. I promise I won’t tell you where I would have been for the next three months. But, today, I will say that I am very glad that I’m not doing that.

Instead, today I am having breakfast then washing two bathrooms and vacuuming and tidying up my house. Around lunchtime my new house-sharing person will be arriving! She’s not a boarder or a lodger or a housemate, she’s Jane and she’s coming to live with me for a while and I’m very excited about it. I have prepared her room, new linen on the bed, a bedside table and a chest of drawers and a table with a mirror and a walk-in-wardrobe.

This week is Easter and it starts for us on Thursday with a Christian Seder supper, I’ll tell you all about it on Friday. I went last year and it was lovely. The lamb was delicious!

Talking about food, is this clever? You’d want a sauce of some sort, wouldn’t you?

spagetti and sausages

I have bags of frozen figs in the deep freeze and at some stage inspiration will strike and I will think, “aha, that’s what I’ll do with all these frozen ripe figs!” I’d like to think it will be white chocolate and fig ice-cream, but that’s unlikely.

The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge have their last day in Wellington today and then fly to Australia tomorrow. It’s been a wonderfully successful tour, they’ve charmed everyone with their attitude and down-to-earth willingness to ‘have a go’ at stuff. They’ve ridden in a jet boat, coached ripper rugby, batted and bowled at a cricket pitch, sailed an America’s Cup boat, drunk wine and eaten beautiful food and looked at if they’ve really enjoyed themselves. And they’ve been given literally hundreds of presents for “little George”, from a little bike to a not-so-little boat to a greenstone teething ring, a cycling shirt and lots of books. I wonder if they’d like some frozen figs??

Leave a Reply

