Chocolate, a dog and a party

Sorry for the silence, been a touch busy. It’ll be a year exactly on Sunday since we moved into our house and we decided to have a wee open home, a ‘drop in and have a cup of tea and something to eat between 1 and 4pm’ type thing. It grew like topsy and now we seem to have around 28 people coming. So I’ve been shopping and cleaning and making lists about lists.

Yesterday we made soup, we roasted six butternuts and caramelised three onions and pureed it in the blender with a touch of nutmeg and curry powder etc. and now we have a huge bowl of delicious puree to mix with milk and serve in mugs. Today I shall make my meatballs and over the next two days it’ll be sweetcorn fritters, marinated chicken, smoked salmon sandwiches, asparagus rolls and little pavs filled with stewed apple, date and apricot loaf etc. The cake will be my chocolate carrot cake, makes a huge moist cake and has crushed pineapple and walnuts in it as well as grated carrot and chocolate, iced with cream cheese frosting.

I’ve finished my next ebook, it’s called ‘In My Blog Cabin’ and it’s a year of blogs, plus some extra writing. Mum read it and laughed her head off, so that was a good sign. She especially liked my description of New Zealand, “It’s like Australia, only smaller, less annoying, more beautiful and its wildlife doesn’t want to murder you.” I need to read it too and, hopefully, it will be up next week.

I may well have news next week about the writing, and by news, I mean NEWS, so watch this space and I shall rush here and update you as soon as I can.

I’m also organising games for the kids on Sunday, dinosaur bone bowling, balloons  to sit on and pop that have jellybeans inside and a dino dig in the sand for treasure.

I have to share this with you, it’s the new world record holder for the largest chocolate sculpture in the world. It’s an exact scale model of the Mayan temple at Chichen Itza in Mexico. We went there in 1995 and it was May and over 45 degrees, I remember the Corona more than the temple. At certain times of the year, equinox I think, when the sun is at the right angle there appears to be a snake sliding down the steps.

I’ll have a bit from the middle

 

And I have to share this with you because it’s brilliant. Have a close look at the picture, it’s one dog. Poor wee mite.

What do you mean, what am I?

Leave a Reply

