In My Blog Cabin with Autumn Crumble

I tried some freestyle cooking last night. I’d thawed two nice free-range chicken thighs so they were easy, seared and then into a casserole dish with a jar of peanut satay sauce and some onion and we had them over fresh Singapore noodles. Yummy. But I took the meat off the thighs when it was cooked and there was enough for two nights if we had a wee pudding. But what to have?

We had about a dozen ripe figs (from our own tree)  in the fruit bowl, so I created an autumn crumble and it was just completely delicious! Cut up ripe figs and put them in a saucepan with about a dozen dates, roughly chopped, half an apple, chopped and skin left on, the juice and zest of one orange, some of my boozy ginger and a bit of the booze the ginger is in, a slosh of blueberry liqueur, cinnamon, 3 cloves and a good squirt of maple syrup and a about half a glass of water. Stew gently until it is reduced, pulpy and a lovely dark colour. Remove cloves. Put the mixture into a rectangular (no, I don’t think the shape matters) oven-proof dish and top with home-made crumble (touch of flour, oats, coconut, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, maple syrup and melted butter). Cook while you eat the first course and then serve with thick custard and vanilla ice-cream. I don’t think I could get it exactly the same again, but close enough.

I am creating a book of my first year in Cambridge as reflected in my blogs. It is called “In My Blog Cabin” and the cover shot is Chloe the cat. Since realising that she’s going to be on the cover of a book, she’s got ideas way above her station, but it’s a good picture and I really can’t think of any other image. It has to be able to reduce to a thumbnail size and still be clearly readable and striking, so something that revolves around words will just make the title difficult to read.

I narrowed the selection down and printed them off and gave them to Mum to read and she enjoyed them, laughed quite a bit and called me an ‘idiot’, so I think they’ll work. Nothing to lose.

As the weather gets colder Chloe sits on the window ledge and stares outside and I can hear her wondering why she is burdened with someone who can’t make it Summer all year. Or maybe not…

 

Leave a Reply

