Secrets and Celebrations

Life, today, is a mixture of happy and sad, excited and reflective and personal and part of a wider community.

It’s six months today since I posted my first book on Amazon. From there it’s spread to Smashwords and itunes, Barnes and Noble, Sony, Diesel and others I don’t even know about. There are four books up, over thirty reviews and around 25,500 ‘sales’. I’ve had lots of lovely comments from people who’ve been moved by my words, by my Dad’s words and have enjoyed reading something I wrote. I hope I never take that experience for granted, I hope it is always thrilling.

Last night I watched a programme on Prime called “The Secret War”. It was the first in a series and this one was about a group of secret commandos in the North African Desert. They were mainly German Jewish refugees who had joined the British Army and they trained them to go behind enemy lines, with the newly formed SAS, and sabotage German military bases and operations. They posed as German officers and the SAS posed as their prisoners and that got them past German checkpoints. It was genuinely fascinating. At one point they were involved in a failed attempt to take Tobruk and I knew that my Dad was flying fighter cover to the bombers that were bombing the city. He was also involved in the original fall of Tobruk and helped fly Spitfires out of the city so that they didn’t fall into German and Italian hands. If it hadn’t been for the letters and writings he left behind I’d never have known about his Middle East war, he never talked about it. Again, the power of the written word. It made me reflect on all the brave men who have fought in the Middle East over the years…including the six British soldiers who were killed in Afghanistan this week.   

A great New Zealander is nearing the end of his battle with cancer. Jock Hobbs was an All Black and he headed the campaign to bring the Rugby World Cup to New Zealand last year. It was a huge success and many people saw our beautiful country and we all enjoyed some spectacular rugby and we won! My thoughts are with his family and all his friends today. Especially his children, I know what it’s like to lose a Dad to cancer and may they know that he will always be with them in a special way.

Another cool thing happened this morning. I have sent out some friend requests on Facebook because I decided I should broaden my circle of friends. One of them was to a woman called Deb Filler. She’s a New Zealand born comedian and she does one woman shows. Several years ago I went to a show she did in Auckland about her late father, Sol Filler. He was a Holocaust survivor. I have never forgotten that brilliant show, it made me laugh and cry and marvel at the power of humour to make a searing point. And today I got the chance to post on her Facebook wall and tell her that.

Yesterday I went to lunch with a publisher. He found me through the article in the Cambridge Edition. He wanted to ‘pick my brains’ about ebooks. It’s a very steep learning curve and if I can help some others, as people helped me, than I am happy to do so.

And I guess it wouldn’t be an early autumn blog without some mention of cooking or preserving! I stewed some plums yesterday because they weren’t very nice eating, and guess what? They’re not very nice as cooked plums either. So thinking cap on…maybe a plum loaf or plum muffins. They definitely need to be reincarnated as something.

Leave a Reply

