Winston Churchill in my lounge

As I sow, so shall I reap. Literally. Last night, after my The West Wing fix, I went out to the vege patch and planted Asian cabbage, beetroot, honey and pearl corn and round carrots. I’d never seen round carrots before, but as it now appears that you can get purple carrots, it’s not surprising that the advances in carrot breeding have escaped me. These grow into round globes of orange carrotness. I’ll let you know how they taste.

Upon awaking I had to resist the urge to dash outside and see how the garden had survived the night. It was 5.20 am and barely light. When I did make it out two hours later I found two dead snails and the new plants all standing up and looking happy.

Last night I watched a film on Soho (our new Sky channel) and found it very interesting. It was called “Into the Storm” and starred Brendon Gleeson as Winston Churchill. People I knew from my history books kept popping up, Clemmie, the King and Queen, Stalin, Roosevelt, Atlee and even Bomber Harris. Nice use of real footage too. I think it’s the same with any distinctive character, if you can get the walk and the voice right, you can create an illusion sufficient to enable viewers to forget you’re an actor. It was sad in places and quite riveting in others. If WWII interests you, seek it out. For the other side of the ‘coin’ I heartily recommend a movie called “Downfall” starring Bruno Ganz as Hitler. It stays with you years after the images have faded from the screen.

Thinking about that, when was the last time you saw a new film that you knew would stay in a special place in your mind and your heart? Do they make movies like that anymore? Or are they all big bang, crash SFX or vampire/werewolf or teen angst tales? I enjoy James Bond movies, I enjoy good crime/thrillers and I see lots of police/government agency procedurals on TV. But the movies that haunt me are “Schindler’s List”, “The English Patient”, “Defiance”, “The King’s Speech”…about real people in extraordinary situations.

Yesterday my chores included making an appointment to take Chloe to a new vet for her checkup and shots and making an appointment for Mum to go back to the doctor to have the stitches out of her head. She had a single basal cell cancer cut off her scalp last Thursday. I don’t even need to tell you how important it is to take the right one to the right appointment, so I made them on different days. 

  Well I must away, I am reading “In Vino Veritas” out to myself and making corrections on a paper copy. And being a devoted plum nanny on the side. At night I dream about tons of plums falling on me from a great height and my last thought is, “Gosh these need more ripening.”

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M.C.V. Egan
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 10:58:59

    I love all the films you tioned, although I was unable to watch schindlers list, maybe I’ll try someday it’s just too heavy! I discovered an amazing film recently and my son and I really enjoyed it. “We Bought A Zoo” it is about real people, who actually have a cameo appearance at the end of the film and AUstin 13 was being a silly sullen teenager when we went in but was such sweetheart when we left as the antagonism between the parent and the teenager really hit home. I think your little Lukas might enjoy it, it is one of those up-lifting adventures that makes a believer in human kind with a dash of luck, that can happen…and well it did!
    Happy Chinese New Year on Monday, The DRAGON! and hope all your veggies are a great success. Do you need to plant onions around them so the rabbits don’t eat them where you live? I had a rabbit problem with my veggie garden in Sweden, here in Florida, the gardening service uses so much pesticide that anything I’d grow, would be sure to poinson me!!!!!
    Take care julie Thomas, inspirational ladt from the other side of The Earth!
    Catalina

    Reply

  2. jmt4159
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 07:02:09

    I first watched Schindler’s List on video so I could stop it and take breaks, it still affects me deeply, but it is SO well done that, as a former film writer, I am fascinated by the process.
    I heard an interview the other day on the radio with the guy who wrote the book on which “I bought a zoo” is based. It sounded really interesting and he said the movie script had played with the timeline a bit, something to do with the death of his wife, I think. Another to add to the list!
    No, we don’t get rabbits here but my brother does on his farm. Snails are my only problem and I try to use natural methods, so far so good! Take care too.
    Jules

    Reply

Leave a Reply

