Goodbye 2011, hello 2012

New Year’s Eve and tomorrow will be 2012, as long as you use the Gregorian calendar, which most of the world does now. For interest sake it will be 2556 in the Buddhist calendar, 1434 in the Islamic calendar and 2555 in the Thai solar calendar. It is quite interesting to read about how long some countries continued to use the Julian calendar, some in Europe didn’t change until the 1920’s. Some orthodox Christian religions still use the Julian calendar for religious observance and celebrate Christmas on January 7th, which is December 25th in the Julian calendar.

One of my Facebook friends posted a little while ago “2011 you were an arsehole, can’t wait to say hi to 2012.” So what was 2011 like? On the world stage it was a year of real change and turmoil and natural disaster. Some things changed for the better and some for the worse and many showed man’s continuing ability to wreak havoc on his fellow-man.

For me personally it was a year of change and growing contentment and I will remember it as the year I moved to the country and the year I first published my work as ebooks.

Another thought that comes into sharp relief today is how quickly the year seems to have passed. In reality it has gone at no faster rate than any other year but it doesn’t seem a whole twelve months since we were last celebrating, present giving, toasting and making resolutions.

For the first time in a long time I make no New Year’s resolutions this year. I could, there are things I could focus on and decide to change, but, by and large, I’m happy with me and the way things are, so I’m going to let it be and focus on all that is good and not what I want to change. The things I intend to achieve I can do without ‘resolving’ to do so.

I passed my 10,000th download across my three books yesterday and am already closing in on 10,400. I wonder where it will be in a year’s time, how much more work will be up there and will people be paying to read them? I find it humbling that people, who have so much material to choose from, choose to own my work and, maybe, even read it.

Happy New Year my readers, thank you for pausing and reading my thoughts on the world. I hope my blog amuses you and, possibly, sometimes enlightens you. I wish you all the very best for 2012, may you stay safe and healthy and may you be able to achieve a long standing goal and may it bring you much happiness. This, I recommend!

Life is a playground

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. M. C. V. Egan (@M_C_V_Egan)
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 10:13:49

    Happiest of New Years to you and all hose who surround you Julie. Your words inspire and humility is a nice trait, it keeps things real, and we know you will have far more success in a years time. There were some very high highs and some terrible lows in 2011, but theres no need to insult the poor year, it’s nearly over!
    Catalina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

