A Winston Fly

So it is a lovely, sunny Sunday morning in Cambridge and we have a National government. Almost a ‘govern on your own’ government in an MMP environment. Yesterday was interesting, I sat and watched as the general populace of Leamington came out and voted. Old and young, men and women, wearing blue and wearing red. We were the only party with scrutineers out and, mostly, people were happy to see us. One man in a red T-shirt, red jacket and red woolly hat glared at me the whole time he was in the booth. Fab!

The day before we’d gone to the town square to meet the campaign bus and John Key. There was a bit of bedlam but on the whole it seemed very well organised and I got to shake his hand and tell him I was proud to work for the re-election of a National government. He looked right at me and thanked me. I also told him what a great job Louise is doing and he agreed with me. He remembered Mum and meeting her before. They had a joke about never being too old for politics. He seemed sincere and to be enjoying himself, he also looked very tired, which was to be expected.

My MP Louise Upston increased her majority dramatically and that is a personal endorsement for her. She has a long electorate geographically, it takes her over two hours to drive from one end to the other. She works extremely hard and is a well-known and a well-liked presence in the whole electorate. She is one of the talented, intelligent, down-to-earth, personable MPs coming up in the National Party. And she has a fantastic support staff around her.

SO…Greens did well, Act and United Future hung on with one pseudo-National MP each, Labour failed miserably, Maori party lost some seats and New Zealand First, well that’s almost beyond belief. Then I hear him spouting his racial hatred on the radio this morning and Mum says, “well I agree with that.” So that’s how he does it, he appeals to the inherently racist older voter. Charming.

The tea tape gave Winston traction and it lost Goff traction when he was trying to talk about policy. So I have a question. I wonder what was the political persuasion of the cameraman who left his device on the table in Epsom. I wonder if the outcome he was intending included the dramatic resurgence of New Zealand First at the expense of Labour?

It’s over and another three years beckon. They will be an extremely hard three years and who knows what other curve balls nature will throw at this wonderful country. But we have stable, intelligent and moderate government.  The only thing that depresses me today is that I will have to hear the buzzing of a really annoying fly in my ear on the TV, a negative fly called Winston.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mcv Egan
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 06:09:29

    I really enjoy your blog, and found this one in particular interesting. Politics are politics everywhere!

    Reply

  2. M. C. V. Egan (@M_C_V_Egan)
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 06:10:51

    Elections in New Zealand, I enjoyed reading this writer’s observations. A blog I visit often.

    Reply

  3. jmt4159
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 08:45:17

    Thanks very much! Yes they are and the process is more important than many people realise, I believe you have a responsibility to be involved and to make your vote count. But it was tiring and I am glad it’s over and I can get back to writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

