Shameless Self Promotion

Well today it is raining gently outside, which is fantastic for the garden, and I don’t have Lucas, so the day stretches invitingly before me and I can write and cook and read and prepare for the weekend. I have shortbread to make, plain, chocolate-chip and almond. Tonight we have an election meeting to go to so we can learn how to scrutineer for the weekend. I think I was in my 20s when I did it for the first time, not sure how much they can teach me about how to scrutineer, but who knows, it might be completely different in the Taupo electorate!

So what to blog about? Myself. Shameless self promotion. I haven’t been round the forums much lately because I’ve been too busy writing the next novel and it does take up time. But this morning I posted on some Kindle forums.

Firstly, I am considering names for my next novel. It’s about a street smart wine buff who witnesses a particularly brutal murder and then has to kill a man himself, in self-defence, and ends up in a catch 22 situation.  If he doesn’t testify the ‘baddies’ will, undoubtedly, hunt him down and silence him. If he does testify he has to become someone else and live somewhere else and will be forever looking over his shoulder. He chooses to become a wine maker but is SO successful his past catches up with him and he has to make a final stand. It’s black and funny and full of wine. As a screenplay it was called “Love and Wine.” I also like “A Vine Romance” but it isn’t really a romance and I wouldn’t want anyone to buy it under false pretences. I also like “Blood and Wine.” If you have any suggestions I will accept them gratefully and I will acknowledge you in the dedication.

I have three books on Amazon and in the Smashwords Premiere Catalogue and I’ve had some five-star ratings and reviews. Yeah! So I’m going to tell you about some of them. These are things that have been said, without prompting on my part, about The Secret Keeper:

“The Secret Keeper is a thoroughly engaging novel, with an emotional intensity which keeps the reader hooked until the very last word. Historically monumental truths are reconciled with personal and, in the case of the main character, childlike issues to create a uniquely balanced and finely woven story. Enjoy!”

“Daniel is a warm and immensely likeable character, somewhat ordinary, aside from his musical genius, who is surrounded by a palette of colourful characters who add the elements of danger, romance and mystery to this tale.”

“Julie Thomas has crafted a novel will leave you feeling enriched, and a cast you will want to spend time with more than once.”

“Music aside, this is a story of love, loss, family, history and culture. From Nazi controlled Germany, through concentration camps, to Soviet Russia, and the life of a violin and sports mad 14 year-old. I highly recommend it and look forward to reading more books by Julie Thomas.”

And this is what was said about my book of Dad’s letters home from war, “Our Father’s War”:

“As a topic, World War II has been brought to the public countless times and through every form of media. What we easily miss, however, are those accounts which come from a truly personal and honest source.
The authors, for whom these documents were functional correspondence or personal records, are those whose involvement in the War now provides a window through which younger generations obtain a glimpse into the reality of this period in history.

Harold Thomas’ letters are an expression of this very reality; at the same time they maintain an eloquent simplicity, through which the young pilot’s character appeals first-hand to the reader. These letters are well edited and presented. Their message is as important now as it was at the time of their composition.”

If any of this prompts you to take a look you will find the links on the MY BOOKS page. And this is the end of today’s message of shameless self promotion. Comments on my wacky world will resume tomorrow. Thank you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mcv Egan
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 11:11:47

    LIFE IS GOOD!!! Congrats curious what the title of the wine murder/witness will be!

    Reply

  2. jmt4159
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 05:52:19

    Yes it is. Thanks so much. So am I, it’s an important decision and I’m hoping it will become clear when the work is finished.
    Cheers
    Julie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

