Absolute Rubbish

Today is rubbish day and so the first job of the day is putting the yellow sack on the curb, along with the blue recycling bin and a bag of newspapers for collection. This morning, as I said goodbye to the week’s rubbish, I was ruminating on the subject. Is it not one of those things you take for granted and how would you cope without a rubbish collection? What would you do with it all? We have a waste disposal unit in the kitchen and the gardening waste goes to my brother’s farm for compost or burning. But what about the other stuff? Bottles, cans, papers, plastic, meat packaging….How it would build up without the people who take it away! I guess we would make regular trips to the local landfill. If you took the scenario a step further and removed the landfill, life would become absolute rubbish.

After I put the rubbish out I wandered around the garden. We’ve had some evening rain the last couple of nights and the soil is looking a dark, well watered colour. The Miracle Grow has worked wonders, the fig tree is higher than the garden shed, the rose tree is about to burst into bloom and so are the hydrangeas. The next project is the two little gardens beside the conservatory. They have stones and ferns and some freesia bulbs in them. We’re going to lift all that and put new soil and some flowers in them.

I also went to say hello to the vege garden. Some days ago I stopped tickling the potatoes. My sister-in-law said it was Ok to do what I was doing, teasing out a few potatoes each day to eat that night, but we had come to the end of the decent sized ones and I thought removing them when they were very small was probably a crime against potatoes. So I stopped and left the garden alone. It has rewarded me spectacularly!! The carrots are bushy and the brocoli plants are thrusting upwards (apart from two who are amongst the mint and seem determined to be the “little people” of the brocoli world) and one big potato plant has the beginnings of white flowers on it. When it has flowered we will take the spade and have the ceremonial digging up of the first plant.

You won’t know, but I’m a person who has never set foot in the garden before. We had clay soil in Auckland and it grew trees and weeds very well, nothing else. I had a herb garden for a couple of weeks but it appeared to need watering and I had commitment issues with it almost immediately. Now, I’ve been bitten by the gardening bug when I wasn’t wearing gloves. I water and I weed and I talk to the garden. The bushes that were (prior to our residence) clipped and regimented have been left to grow big, bushy and colourful.  The soil is glorious and you can’t move more than three feet in any direction in this town without encountering a tree. At the moment they are covered with leaves, blossoms and/or flowers and the huge Oak trees shimmer in the wind like a great clipper on the high seas.

For those of you with a literary bent I have a question for you. Who is the best-selling author in the English-speaking world right now? No, it isn’t Dan Brown or John Grisham or Stephen King. It is a man called Jim Grant. More tomorrow.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. scottshelp
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 08:21:03

    Great article. Thanks for mentioning Miracle Gro!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

