Music, movies and memories

I heard a radio ad this morning for Meatloaf’s new CD and it brought back a very clear memory of “Bat Out of Hell.” How I loved that LP in my teenaged years! It felt slightly disobedient to be singing some of those lyrics and he had such a strong, operatic kind of voice.

That started me on a nostalgia train of thought. First stop was all the LPs and musicians that rocked my world as I grew up. Hot August Night, Bridge Over Troubled Water, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Mull of Kintyre, Innocent Man…yep, they were the men. Neil, Paul, Art, Elton, Paul, Billy, Meatloaf (spot the name that sounds weird) and they’re still doing it, all these years later. AND Abba. Oh I loved Abba. I loved the brunettes best and I loved their lyrics and that they could get into costumes I couldn’t get my big toe into. I cut school in the fourth form to go to an ABBA movie, don’t remember the fourth form at all, but still remember the movie!

Which brought me to my second stop, movies. I have always loved movies and the best thing about them is I remember the ones that had something to do with me, I remember what I did at that movie. I remember my best friend and I sneaking into our first R16 movie and asking for a half. It was a Glenda Jackson and George Segal movie and they were having an affair and they went on holiday together but kept meeting people they knew and had no chance to be together. And when he knew that it was over I remember the expression on his face, I had learned to read the more subtle adult facial expressions. And a Chevy Chase, Goldie Hawn one that had a dwarf and an albino and the Pope from the back, and I thought it was amazing that they had got the Pope to appear in a movie!!

And West Side Story, the musical as a film. I’d had the soundtrack as long as I could remember, so I sang, softly, all the way through. And my friend kept elbowing me which I thought was terribly unkind. And Mum took me to see Nicholas and Alexandra , a movie about the last Czar and Czarina and Rasputin had a long beard and I got so upset during a scene I made Mum leave at the interval (yes, they used to have intervals in movies so you could buy another ice cream). The scene that upset me was a massive aerial shot of a working laundry room with ‘poor’ people scrubbing clothes and being bullied by soldiers. I have no idea why I was upset by it. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that Mum is  the world’s greatest washerwoman. When I come back from overseas she has my suitcase open and my dirty clothes in the machine almost before I am through customs…and my great movie memory has to be “Camelot”, the musical. I was entranced. I SO wanted to be Guinevere (Vanessa Redgrave in a huge white fur coat). As Lancelot (a very blue-eyed Franco Nero) was singing “If ever I would leave you” to his Queen, I dropped a whole packet of fruit puffs onto a wooden floor and they rolled all the way down to the front of the theatre. Everyone turned around and instead of turning around to glare at the person behind me, I buried my seven-year old head in my mother’s shoulder and wailed “oh Mum.”

I could go on and on, such strong memories, but this train has run its course and it is time to return to today and the task of finishing proofing my latest project so I can upload it to Smashwords and Amazon. Might just put on a little “Dancing Queen” to sing along to as I go. Benny and Anni-Frid I miss you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TOAOHRB
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 09:42:58

    “A Touch of Class” & “Foul Play” – memories :-)))))

    Reply

  2. jmt4159
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 10:18:43

    I KNEW you would remember. They don’t make movies like that anymore and I’m not sure whether that is a good or a bad thing! Can you imagine that movie being restricted today?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

